International Yoga School – Yoga Teacher Trainings and Sound Healing, Rishikesh

What is the purpose of the 8 limbs of yoga?

Yoga isn’t simply actual stances or activities; it is much more than that. A comprehensive methodology includes your psyche, body, and soul. At the focal point of this way of thinking are the 8 limbs of yoga, which give a far-reaching guide vital for carrying on with a fair and significant life. Yet, what precisely are these 8 limbs, and what is their motivation? We should dive into the embodiment of these old practices.

The Origin of the 8 Limbs of Yoga

The idea of the 8 limbs of yoga, otherwise called Ashtanga yoga, starts from the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, a basic text on yoga reasoning composed around 400 CE. As indicated by Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, there are 8 limbs of Yoga’ (the word ‘ashta’ signifies ‘eight’ and ‘anga’ signifies ‘appendage’). Patanjali’s lessons give an organized way to accomplish profound illumination and self-acknowledgement through focused practice.

Understanding the Concept of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga, derived from the Sanskrit words “ashta” (eight) and “anga” (limbs), signifies the eightfold path outlined by Patanjali. The 8 limbs of yoga serve as guidelines to help individuals lead a life of purpose, ethics, and self-awareness, ultimately leading to inner peace and enlightenment.

1.  Yama (Ethical Disciplines)

Yama includes moral standards and moral lead towards others and oneself. It integrates five norms:

Ahimsa (Tranquility): Advances sympathy and charitableness.

Satya (Honesty): Energizes genuineness in contemplations, words, and activities.

Asteya (Non-taking): Spotlights regarding others’ assets and time.

Brahmacharya (Abstinence/Modesty): Stresses balance and discretion.

Aparigraha (Non-possessiveness): Promoters straightforwardness and non-connection.

2. Niyama (Self-Discipline)

Niyama includes individual practices that lead to self-filtration and otherworldly development:

Saucha (Cleanliness): Both external and internal purity.

Santosha (Happiness): Tracking down satisfaction and satisfaction throughout everyday life.

Tapas (Discipline/Intensity): Creating versatility and inward strength.

Svadhyaya (Self-Study): Empowering self-reflection and learning.

Ishvara Pranidhana (Give up to a Higher Power): Developing confidence and giving up.

3. Asana (Postures)

Asanas, the actual stances, are maybe the most perceived part of yoga. They give:

Actual advantages: Expanded adaptability, strength, and equilibrium.

Mental advantages: Improved fixation, stress help, and mental lucidity.

4. Pranayama (Breath Control)

Pranayama includes methods to control and manage the breath, promoting overall health:

Methods: Like Ujjayi, Kapalabhati, and Nadi Shodhana.

Benefits: Further developed lung limit, diminished tension, and expanded imperativeness.

5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of the Senses)

Pratyahara is the act of pulling out the faculties from outer interruptions to turn internal:

Concept: Accomplishing separation from tangible over-burden.

Benefits: Improved internal mindfulness and mental serenity.

6. Dharana (Concentration)

Dharana centers around developing fixation and concentration:

Strategies: Utilizing procedures like zeroing in on a solitary point or item.

Importance: Works on everyday fixation and efficiency.

7.  Dhyana (Meditation)

Dhyana is the act of supported reflection:

Types: Including care, mantra, and adoring generosity reflection.

Benefits: Profound unwinding, emotional stability, and increased mindfulness.

8. Samadhi (Union)

Samadhi addresses a definitive objective of yoga – a condition of significant association and solidarity:

Idea: Edification and self-acknowledgement.

Experiences: Sensations of unity, rapture, and amazing quality.


The 8 limbs of yoga give a significant structure to living a reasonable, moral, and satisfying life. By coordinating these standards, we can accomplish more noteworthy amiability inside ourselves and with our general surroundings. When you’re a novice or an accomplished professional, the 8 limbs offer a way to more profound self-understanding and illumination.

Ready to embark on your journey through the 8 limbs of yoga? Whether you’re seeking to deepen your practice or just starting out, our comprehensive yoga programs are designed to guide you every step of the way. Join our community today and start transforming your life with the wisdom of yoga.


  • What is the difference between Ashtanga yoga and the 8 limbs of yoga?

    Ashtanga yoga alludes to the eightfold way illustrated by Patanjali, enveloping moral practices, stances, and contemplation. This term is likewise used to depict a particular style of incredible actual yoga created by K. Pattabhi Jois.

  • Can beginners practice the 8 limbs of yoga?

    Yes, amateurs can begin rehearsing the 8 limbs of yoga. It's a dynamic way, and you can start with essential moral rules and straightforward stances, progressively consolidating further developed rehearsals.

  • How long does it take to master the 8 limbs of yoga?

    Mastering the 8 limbs of yoga is a deep-rooted venture. It includes ceaseless learning and practice, and the period shifts for every person.

  • Are the 8 limbs of yoga religious?

    While laid out in the Hindu perspective, the 8 limbs of yoga are not severe. They are inescapable guidelines for people and significant upgrades that can be changed by individuals of any conviction structure.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe Newsletter

Get Updates  Regularly