International Yoga School – Yoga Teacher Trainings and Sound Healing, Rishikesh

About Seven Chakras

What are Chakras?

Chakras are energy centers of the body. So each one handles certain physical, spiritual, and emotional functions. Focusing on and balancing our chakras can help realign them. They are invisible centers of subtle energy. Therefore, aligned on a central channel alongside the spine.

Chakras filled with mystic energy called pranic or life-force. As it spins and draws upon this energy. Each chakra looks functioning of specific physical organs, emotions, mental faculties, and spirituality. Imbalance in the function of a chakra affects the corresponding organs. Thus, leads to some kind of illness. Physically as well as mentally or mood swings.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Third eye Chakra (Ajna)

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Sahasrara is the 7th chakra

Sahasrara located just above the crown of the head. In other words, The highest chakra. Generally, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It rules the pineal gland. Specifically associated with wisdom, inspiration, and charisma. Also, Body organs just like the upper brain, cerebral cortex, and central nervous system. It is Creator of the transformed physical body. The seat of enlightenment.

Space element

Ajna is the 6th chakra

Located between the eyebrows, the ‘third eye’. Creator of the transformed prana body. It presides over psychic abilities, self-realization, memory, perception, and courage. It rules the pituitary gland and attributes of imagination and intuition. This chakra regulates the eyes, nose and ears, the sinuses and parts of the brain. Associated with inner vision, will-power, and high immunity.

Space element

Vissudhi is the 5th chakra

Located at the throat. Represents our ability to communicate. It regulates the thyroid gland. Organs associated with it include the throat, vocal cords, mouth, tongue, and lymphatic system. It regulates the menstrual cycle. Generally Associated with inner guidance, wisdom, expression, and clarity.  In particular, it helps in communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.

Space element

Anahata is the 4th chakra

The Heart Chakra is Located behind the heart. A double chakra made up of the Lower Anahata and Higher Anahata. Creator of the un-transformed and transformed psychic bodies. Associated with emotional attachments, love, and relationships.

Air element

Manipura is the 3rd chakra 

It is Located in the upper abdomen in the stomach area. Creator of the un-transformed mental body. It governs mental functions like Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem. In particular, Body parts controlled by it include the digestive system, diaphragm, and nervous system.

Fire element

Swadisthana is the 2nd chakra

It is Located in the lower abdomen about two inches below the navel and two inches in. In particular, Swadisthana is the creator of the un-transformed prana body. Hence, Associated with blind emotions such as anger, fear, jealousy, and lust.

Water element

The Muladhara (Root) Chakra

Mool means Root. So, Of course, this chakra is near the tail bone. Furthermore, it represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. It is associated with the color red and governs the passions. Also controls psychological functions such as survival instinct, sexuality, impulsiveness, and courage. Lord Ganesha rules over the root chakra.

Earth element



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe Newsletter

Get Updates  Regularly